UPDATE: Bolen Lareza Wins Grand Cosplay Idol Title


Chibi cosplayer Bolen Lareza has won the title of Grand Cosplay Idol 2013 at the Pinoy Otaku Festival 2013 last May 25 in Starmall EDSA-Shaw.

Lareza won in the Cosplay Idol leg in Waltermart Sta Maria.

Ashley Misaki, another chibi cosplayer won first runner up while Chris Oreto won second runner up in the competition.

Misaki is one of the winners of the Wildcard phase held earlier in the event while Oreto won in Cosplay Idol at Bulacan State University.

Other “Idol” finalists are Kit Bernardo, Camille Erat, Aroon Orduna, VM Hernandez, Izaiah Luke Buelos and Lester Espiritu.

Winners were given cash prizes and Animax premium items.

Individual/Group Cosplay Competition

According to our partner Deremoe, 61 cosplayers participated in the individual cosplay competition while only one participated for the group competition.

Here are the winners:

Best Dragon Nest Cosplayer: #35 RB Cheng
Best Vocaloid Cosplayer: #33 LA Aquino
Best Pinoy Character: #45 Joana Aviola
Best Naruto Cosplayer: #12 Knievel Rosaroso
Best Game/Movie/Comics: #16 Mico Ray Enriquez
Best Mecha/Armor: #19 Christian Espinosa
Best Anime: #43 Tantin Meneses
Best Child: #7 Shan Lowel Cruz

Group Cosplay: Fairy Tail

Winners were also given cash prizes and sponsors’  limited edition items.

UPDATE: 5/26/2013

In a statement made via Facebook, Pinoy Otaku Festival 2013 Overall Coordinator Dave D’Angelo announced that finalist Aaron Orduna is the second runner up winner of Cosplay Idol Finals 2013.

This is after recomputing the score sheets for the said competition. Bolen Lareza and Ashley Misaki will retain their titles.

Furthermore, D’Angelo announced that he will take responsibility on the incident. Chris Oreta was announced as 2nd runner up winner at the event.

Here is the statement

In the spirit of fairness in judging we have recomputed the score sheets and scoring for the COSPLAY IDOL FINALS. Here are the recomputed results based on the score sheets.

We would like to properly announce the CORRECT WINNERS:

1ST RUNNER-UP – Ashley Misaki
2nd RUNNER-UP – Aroon Orduna

I will be personally shouldering the prize for the 2nd Runner-Up since this error is command responsibility.

Thanks and again congratulations!

– Dave D’Angelo, Event Overall Coordinator –